Skip to content

Tutorial: How to Tie a Fall Hitch (6 Plait Point)

January 6, 2011

Here is an excellent video showing how to tie a fall hitch by Joseph Strain of www.NorthernWhipCo.com

There are many different ways to tie on a fall, and many different styles of hitches.  The above video shows one of the most commonly used fall hitch styles, and it is the type of hitch used on standard Indiana Jones style bullwhips.

For a video on how to make your own fall, check out the post “Tutorial: How to Make a Leather Fall”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff Roseborough permalink
    January 24, 2011 6:03 am

    Thanks for the great video. I noticed you tied the right hands strands first and then the left. I guess it would not matter which side, just as long as you take the top strand first. I have alternated right/left as I tied – It would matter if I used different colors. With your method tying one side first will “straighten” the off-side strands and make things even overall. I will have to try it on my next whip. Thanks. Now only if I could finish my next whip. Its been sitting in my closet half fineshed for over a month now… just not enough time lately.

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial: How to Tie a New Fall Hitch (4 Plait Point) « The Whip Blog

Leave a Reply

